Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Titans Finish Fourth At WIAC Championship

Tyler Miletti finished sixth to lead the Titans at this year's WIAC Championship.
Tyler Miletti finished sixth to lead the Titans at this year's WIAC Championship.

Tyler Miletti's sixth-place run helped UW-Oshkosh finish fourth at the WIAC Men's Cross Country Championship (Presented by Culver's) held Saturday (Oct. 29) at the Wisconsin River Golf Club in Stevens Point.

UW-Eau Claire scored 41 points to win its third consecutive WIAC title and fourth overall. The Blugolds owned four of the meet's top nine runners, including Darin Lau, who completed the 8,000-meter race with a second-place time of 24:20.

UW-La Crosse finished second in the eight-team meet with 50 points while UW-Platteville placed third with 100, UW-Oshkosh fourth with 129, UW-Stevens Point fifth with 144, UW-Stout sixth with 152, UW-River Falls seventh with 175 and UW-Whitewater eighth with 179. UW-Oshkosh, which finished third a year ago, has placed in the top four at each of the past four WIAC Championships.

Miletti led the Titans at this year's meet with his sixth-place time of 24:38. He previously finished 46th at the championship in 2014 and 57th in 2013.

Assisting Miletti in calculating UW-Oshkosh's team score were Charlend Howard, Joe Zack, Mitch Pauers and Trevor Damkot. Howard finished 14th with a time of 25:13 while Zack placed 30th in 25:51, Pauers 44th in 26:15 and Damkot 45th in 26:16. Howard was a seventh-place finisher in last year's race while Zack finished 20th in 2014.

UW-Platteville's Ian LaMere claimed the individual title for the second straight year. LaMere defeated the championship's 86 other runners with his winning time of 23:56.

Brett Harms of UW-Whitewater finished third behind LaMere and Lau with his time of 24:31. Thomas Schultz of La Crosse placed fourth in 24:35 and Daniel Borash of UW-River Falls fifth in 24:36.

UW-Oshkosh had six other runners at the meet, including Jacob Rost, who finished 46th with a time of 26:18 and Dan Massey, who placed 57th in 26:39. The Titans' Bennett Krueger finished 79th in 27:33 while Corbin Bevry placed 81st in 27:39, Nathan Nozzi 82nd in 27:57 and Trevor Faldet 85th in 28:25.

The top seven runners in this year's meet received All-WIAC first team recognition, and runners placing eighth through 14th earned All-WIAC second team accolades. Individuals finishing 15th through 20th claimed honorable mention laurels.

All eight WIAC teams will participate at the NCAA Division III Midwest Regional hosted by UW-Oshkosh on Nov. 12 at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne. The NCAA Division III Championship will be held Nov. 19 in Louisville, Ky.

2016 WIAC Men's Cross Country Championship Website