Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Titans Open Season With Eighth-Place Run

Lucas Weber ran to his second top-30 finish at the Vic Godfrey Open in as many appearances.
Lucas Weber ran to his second top-30 finish at the Vic Godfrey Open in as many appearances.

UW-Oshkosh began its 2018 men's cross country season with an eighth-place finish at the UW-Parkside Vic Godfrey Open held Saturday (Sept. 8) in Somers.

Lucas Weber, who finished 30th at the meet a year ago, led the Titans on Saturday by completing the 8,000-meter course with a 17th-place time of 26:21.

UW-Oshkosh's Cody Chadwick also ran to a personal course record by finishing 30th with a time of 26:38. He previously placed 67th at the Vic Godfrey Open in 2017 and 110th in 2016.

Freshman Andrew Muskevitsch made his presence known by finishing 54th out of the meet's 145 runners with a time of 27:17. Fabian Salinas and Justin Skinkis rounded out UW-Oshkosh's scorers with their 67th-place time of 27:37 and 84th-place time of 28:04, respectively.

UW-Oshkosh finished eighth in the team standings by one point as NCAA Division II UW-Parkside edged the Titans for seventh place, 193-194.

NCAA Division I Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) won the 12-team meet with 28 points. The Jaguars owned three of the meet's top five runners as Ben Savage finished second with a time of 25:43, Jarit Perkins third in 25:46 and Eric Hoffman fifth in 25:49.

The next four teams in the listings were all Division I members as Marquette University finished second with 86 points, Kansas State University third with 101, Loyola University (Ill.) fourth with 102 and UW-Milwaukee fifth with 109.

Unattached runner Robert Murphy seized his way to the meet's individual title with a time of 25:40. Taking fourth place among the event's 145 runners with a time of 25:47 was Joe Gorthy of Kansas State University.

UW-Oshkosh rounded out its top 100 efforts with the 88th-place time of 28:07 from Brian McKnight, 91st-place time of 28:21 from Steven Potter, 98th-place time of 28:34 from Bennett Krueger and the 100th-place time of 28:48 from Henry Laste.

The Titans then owned six of the next 12 runners as Robert Szymanski finished 103rd with a time of 28:49, Collin Borazo 106th in 29:03, Skyler Yunk 107th in 29:05, Parker Scheld 108th in 29:06, Kiernan Koepke 111th in 29:29 and Zachary Molland 112th in 29:41.

UW-Oshkosh is idle until it hosts the Titan Fall Classic on Sept. 21 at the Lake Breeze Golf Club in Winneconne.

Written by Ally Gwidt, UW-Oshkosh Sports Information