Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Titans Own 12 Place Winners At Dan Gable Open

Titans Own 12 Place Winners At Dan Gable Open

UW-Oshkosh freshman Beau Yineman won all four of his matches to win the 197-pound title at the Titans' Dan Gable Open held Saturday (Nov. 10) in Kolf Sports Center.

The non-scoring event was held for the 16th consecutive year and featured 97 wrestlers from five collegiate programs, including National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics member University of the Cumberlands (Ky.) and UW-Oshkosh's NCAA Division III and WIAC rival UW-Stevens Point. The meet also included 22 wrestlers not affiliated with a collegiate wrestling program.

Yineman was among 12 UW-Oshkosh place winners, including Ben Kitslaar, Patrick Reilly and AJ Schoenfuss who all finished second after losing the championship contest in their respective weight class.

Yineman pinned his first two opponents – Harper College's (Ill.) Jamie Martinez in 2:18 and unattached Kyle Benish in 1:06 – before posting a 14-3 victory over UW-Stevens Point's Jerry Lipke. Yineman then earned the first-place finish in his weight class when UW-Oshkosh teammate Ben Kitslaar was injured in the first round of their title match.

Kitslaar qualified for his championship bout with Yineman by defeating UW-Stevens Point's Alex Mischka and Ross Agg by 12-6 and 6-4 scores, respectively.

Reilly compiled a 3-1 record as a competitor in the 184-pound weight class. His lone defeat was a narrow 7-6 decision to unattached Joshua Becker in the championship contest. Reilly advanced to the final by pinning unattached Nick Monty in 5:31 and recording wins of 3-1 over the University of Cumberlands' Austin Mathews and 4-0 over UW-Stevens Point's Austin Stebane. 

Schoenfuss was the runner-up in the 125-pound weight division. He compiled a 2-1 record, including loss on a pin in 6:50 to unattached Eric Barnett in the championship bout. Schoenfuss qualified for the final with pins in 2:23 of Lakeland University's Kurtis DeGroot and 26 seconds of Harper College's Lane Wells.

Finishing third for the Titans were Husam Alabed at 174 pounds, Colten Cashmore at 184 and Jordan Lemcke at 285.

Alabed registered a 3-1 record, including a 12-7 win over UW-Stevens Point's Taran Holland in the third-place match, Alabed sandwiched a 11-10 loss to Harper College's Juan Quiroz with victories of 12-3 over UW-Stevens Point's Graysen Sorensen and 13-7 over unattached Marcus McKinley.

Cashmore rattled off four straight wins after opening with a 6-4 loss to unattached Joshua Becker. He took third place with a 9-3 win over the University of Cumberlands' Austin Mathews. Cashmore strung his first three wins together by defeating University of the Cumberlands' Brian Mahadeo, 16-1; pinning Harper College's John Wright in 5:43; and ousting UW-Stevens Point's Austin Stebane, 4-1.

Lemcke copied Cashmore by also putting four consecutive wins together after losing his opening contest. His last victory was an 8-0 decision over unattached Joe Kitslaar in the third-place match. Lemcke lost a 3-2 result to University of the Cumberlands' Aaron Johnson in his first bout before pinning Lakeland University's Harry Tompkins in 4:44; Harper College's Jacob Weingardt in 5:50; and University of the Cumberands' Seth Whitlock in 3:24. 

UW-Oshkosh's fourth-place finishers were Joey Giurini at 125 pounds, Zak Nelson at 141 and Tony Kontney at 165. All three Titans tallied a 3-2 record, with Giurini counting three pins and both Nelson and Kontney one apiece.

The Titans' remaining place winners were Muzi Sitshela, who finished fifth at 157 pounds, and Darron Sims, who listed sixth at 133. Sitshela posted a 3-2 record (1 pin) and Sims a 2-3 mark.

UW-Oshkosh remains in Kolf Sports Center to host UW-Eau Claire on Tuesday (Nov. 13).

Photo courtesy of Steve Frommell